What I do when I fail

…… I listen to Sinplus- Unbreakable!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1OJW0V0xx8I (I couldn’t upload the video…)

Yesterday I was just surfing the internet and decided to check out the Eurovision 2012 participants. And I stumbled upon this great song!! If you live in Europe, watch this year’s Eurovision Song Contest and vote for Sinplus- Unbreakable!! It’s a Swiss duo made up of brothers Ivan and Gabriel Broggini.

Since Sinplus is from Switzerland, I wanted to do more research about the country. Here is a list of places to see when visiting Switzerland. (I have not yet been to Switzerland, but will definitely visit!)

Switzerland is a beautiful country in Europe. It has 4 official languages, but 3 are widely used: German (63.7%), French (20.4%) and Italian (6.5%). If you know any of these languages, Great!! You’ll have no trouble.

Genève– a place not to be missed- the Old Town and the Cathedral of Saint Pierre. I really love visiting Cathedrals. They are like art museums. That way I don’t have to visit real art museums.
Another place that caught my eye, was the Headquarters of the UN in Europe. It is located in the midst of Ariana Park. I think it is very important to see this. And if any of you like nature, Geneve has a botanical garden with plenty of flowers, trees, plants, etc.
Lausanne– is a french speaking part of Switzerland and the city is situated on the shores of Lake Geneva. So I think what I would first do, is jump into Lake Geneva!!! 

I mentioned before, that I really love visiting Cathedrals. And of course I would not miss the Lausanne Cathedral (Cathedral of Notre-Dame) built between 1170-1240 in the Gothic style. There are also many museums in Lausanne: Museum of Photography, Olympic Museum, Art Museum, The Roman Museum, etc. 

Lausanne-cathe7.JPG

Bern– the capital of Switzerland but only the fourth most populous city. The first place to visit, is the Old Town. It became a UNESCO World Heritage City in 1983. What is not to be missed, is Kramgasse 49- address of the apartment Albert Einstein lived in from 1903 to 1905. The street is part of the Old Town of Bern.

Zurich– the largest city in Switzerland located at the northwestern tip of Lake Zurich. To get a feel of Zurich, the Old Town of Zurich should be your first stop.  It has many Medieval houses, great clubs and shopping areas. Step into the Grossmunster (Great Minster)- the landmark of Zurich. It is a Romanesque style church and one of the three major churches in the city. The other two churches are Fraumunster (Our lady;s minster) and Peterskirche (Peter’s Church).
I would definitely visit Zurich Zoo which houses 340 animal species in habitats designed to be natural. 


St. Moritz– the host city of the 1928 and 1948 Winter Olympic Games.  It is a beautiful alpine village in which you can enjoy skiing, snowboarding and many other fun winter activities. 

Monte Brè (925 m) in the Ticino<br>Summit with panoramic view, reachable by funicular from Cassarate. View over Lake Lugano onto the town of Lugano and the Monte San Salvatore (912 m)

Lugano– the “Monte Carlo of Switzerland” because in recent years this city has attracted many celebrities and athletes. It is avery beautiful city which lies on the edge of Lake Lugano. To get the best view of the city, visit the top of Monte San Salvatore either by cable car or rope trail. This city also has Swiss Miniature, which is a park of Switzerland on a smaller scale just like Belgium’s Mini Europe. It is a good thing to come here if you’re not planning on visiting all of Switzerland. You can just see it all at this park!!




And since this post is because of the great duo- Sinplus, lets see what Losone, the home city of Gabriel and Ivan Broggini has to offer!!

Losone– most of the population speaks Italian. This municipality is located in the Locarno district. The Secondary School at via Primore is listed as a Swiss heritage site of national significance. That might be an interesting place to see. 
I think I’ll stop writing here, find Ivan and Gabriel so they would give me a tour of Losone :))




These are not all the places to visit in this amazing country. It has sooo much more to offer and this post won’t be enough to write about everything. I know I will visit this country to see it’s magic myself. 


Source: http://www.myswitzerland.com/en/home.html ; Wikipedia.com

Leave a Reply

