Taste the Culture of Estonia

Since I really love to walk around a new city and rarely use public transport, unless I feel my legs are about to fall off, I am probably going to be realllly hungry. Food is also a great way to get to know a different culture. And I really do love to get to know different cultures, languages and the people. So what is best to try while in Estonia and Finland?? Well, you’re about to find out…

Estonia

Kohuke on the inside

Kohuke (Curd snack). I love curd snacks soooooo much!!! Not a day goes by that I don’t have at least one. If you haven’t been to any of the Baltics, you have no idea what I’m talking about. It’s a snack made of chocolate and quark cheese. They could also come in flavors with different fillings: raspberry, eggnog, strawberry…

Kohuke




Kartulisalat (potato salad). Traditional Estonian cuisine uses potatoes, so it’s a good idea to make a delicious salad with the main ingredient being potatoes. This is actually also popular in Lithuania.
Kartulisalat

Their cuisine is heavily influenced by Russians and Germans. The typical ingredients are black bread, pork, fish, cabbage soup, potatoes, vegetables and various dairy products.
But recently they have mixed foreign cuisine into their own cuisine and have interesting traditional dishes:
  • Silgusoust (Baltic sprats with bacon and cream)

Silgusoust
  • Mulgikapsad (pork with sauerkraut and boiled potatoes)

Mulgikapsad

  • Verivorst (blood sausage with barley)- this is traditional Christmas food and is served with red, berry jam

    Verivorst
    Sult
  • Sült (boiled pork in aspic jelly)- the jelly is made by boiling the pork bones. It’s often made in large batches. I have tied this before and I can say, that I am not a fan of this.
  • Suitsulõhe (smoked salmon)- this I am so trying!!
  • Kissel (fruit soup)- popular as dessert. It is very popular during Christmas.
  • Kali- non-alcoholic beverage sometimes referred to as “the Estonian Coca-cola”, and tastes tastes kind of like an unfermented beer.
    Suitsulohe
    Kissel

Which dish would you most like to try?
In my next post I will write about the foods to try in Finland.
Leave a Reply

